Gluten Free Goodness

by sophievllewellyn

So I’ve finally become that “gluten free nightmare” that all waiters, waitresses and chefs despise. I’ve been on a ‘no gluten’ diet now for 5 months (with a few bumps and bruises along the way, what can I say I freaking love a Gregg’s sausage roll), and I have to admit the one meal I have struggled with is the most important meal of the day; duh duh duuuuuh…Breakfast. When it comes to breakfast I am a typical convenience eater; toast, crumpets, porridge etc (pretty much anything bread related that is doused in butter). But since starting my GF diet, I’ve realised that there isn’t a lot of “convenience” food available (unless you want to re-mortgage your house and buy GF bread =/). So instead of moaning, I’ve decided to embrace the choices I’ve made, and make breakfast fun.

So on this part of my blog I will be solely focusing on GF breakfasts (with some snacks and other meals thrown in).

 

AMERICAN STYLE GF PANCAKES  

IMG_20150524_133106

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

***************************************

*Serves two (or a greedy one – me?)

Ingredients

* 130g/17 tablespoons of GF flour (always Doves Farm, it is literally the only one I can ever find – please tell me if there is alternative)
* 125ml/ half a cup of milk
* 1 teaspoon of baking powder
* 1 egg (free range people, feel the love)
* pinch of salt
* 2 tablespoons of butter (unsalted is preferable)

** Toppings: Bacon (Morrisons do some sexy posh kind), blueberries, strawberries and maple syrup**

Soooo, WHAT DO I DO?

1. Put baking powder, salt and flour in a bowl (sieve if you’ve got one if not…tea strainer like I did?)
2. In a separate bowl gently stir butter, milk and egg with a fork
3.  Mix together the two with a fork and get rid of those lumps – don’t over mix though ’cause this can make the pancakes tough
4. Get a pan and get it heated up
5. Add a ‘ladles worth’ of mixture to the pan – if you’re not fancy and don’t have a ladle then put it in a jug so its easy to pour out.
6. Cook until it starts to bubble, this is the sign it can be flipped – get those flippin tekkers out!
7. Add your toppings and get scoffing you greedy mite!

N.B. Not going to glamour this at all, it was messy and took me about half an hour (flour fights and blueberry munching took place)

This is perfection if you’ve got a loose hour, or even better for a lazy Sunday morning in bed drinking coffee and having a Netflix binge. You’re welcome.

